Skip to content

Programs : Brochure

This page is the brochure for your selected program. You can view the provided information for this program on this page and click on the available buttons for additional options.
  • Program Terms: Trimester 1
  • This program is currently not accepting applications.
Dates / Deadlines:

There are currently no active application cycles for this program.
Fact Sheet:
Deakin Faculty: Faculty of Arts & Education, Faculty of Business & Law, Faculty of Health, Faculty of Science, Engineering & Built Environments Program Type: Independent Travel
Credit Type: Undergraduate New Colombo Plan Funded: Yes
Program Description:
NCP 2017
Pictured: Deakin University's 2017 New Colombo Plan Scholars Callan Green, Chris Williams and Rachel Lynch with Minister for Foreign Affairs Julie Bishop.
Are you our next world changer? Looking for adventure? High achiever but not sure what your next step is?

The New Colombo Plan is a signature initiative of the Australian Government which aims to lift knowledge of the Indo-Pacific in Australia by supporting Australian undergraduates to study and undertake Internships in the region. It is intended to be transformational, deepening Australia's relationships in the region, both at the individual level and through expanding university, business and other stakeholder links. Deakin University currently has three Scholars abroad - in India, Hong Kong and Malaysia - and in 2018, this could be you!

The New Colombo Plan involves a prestigious scholarships program for study of up to one year and internships or mentorships, and a flexible mobility grants program for both short and longer-term study, internships, mentorships, practicums and research. All New Colombo Plan supported study must receive credit towards an Australian undergraduate degree. Each Scholarship is worth up to $68,000 each and provides you with the opportunity to undertake study and internship/mentorship opportunities in eligible Host Locations!

To be eligible, applicants for a New Colombo Plan Scholarship must:
  • be nominated by their Home University.
  • be an Australian citizen. Applicants cannot undertake their Scholarship in a Host Location in which they hold dual citizenship or permanent residency; or in which they have previously been a citizen or permanent resident.
  • be enrolled in units at an on-shore campus of an Australian University during the application process.
  • be between 18 and 28 years of age (inclusive) on 1 January 2018.
  • be undertaking a Bachelor Degree or Bachelor Honours Degree when the Scholarship Program commences.
  • have achieved a minimum 70 per cent graded average or equivalent for their undergraduate course at the time of application, as determined by the nominating Home University.
  • not be a previous recipient of a New Colombo Plan Scholarship.
  • Successful applicants are not allowed to commence another Australian Government funded off-shore Scholarship Program or mobility grant (including a New Colombo Plan Mobility Program grant) while undertaking their New Colombo Plan Scholarship Program.
All ten nominated students are required to have police checks completed at the time of nomination. Criminal convictions do not automatically disqualify a student from applying for or receiving a scholarship, but may impact on visa applications to some countries. All nominated applicants will receive support from the Graduate Talent Development team during the formal application and interview process. Support will include interview and resume preparation, and group workshops with all ten nominees.

Scholarship Programs can be conducted in the following 40 Indo-Pacific Host Locations:

Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, China, Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, French Polynesia, Hong Kong SAR, India, Indonesia, Japan, Kiribati, Laos, Malaysia, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nauru, Nepal, New Caledonia, Niue, Pakistan, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Philippines,
Republic of Korea, Samoa, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Tonga,Tuvalu, Vanuatu and Vietnam.

List of Deakin's partner universities in Asia
Deakin will also provide support to students who wish to source their own study options at universities that do not have a current partnership with Deakin. The scholarship will pay up to $20,000 of tuition fees over a 12 month period for non partner universities.
University City Country Recommended for students in Faculties of:
ESSCA School of Management - Shanghai Shanghai China Business & Law
Peking University Beijing China Business & Law
University of Hong Kong Pokfulam Hong Kong Arts & Education, Business & Law, Health, SEBE
Centre for Environmental Planning and Technology University CEPT Ahmedabad India SEBE
Binus University Jakarta Indonesia Arts & Education, Business & Law, SEBE
Universitas Indonesia Jakarta Indonesia SEBE
Akita International University Akita Japan Arts & Education, Business & Law
Kansai Gaidai University Osaka Japan Arts & Education, Business & Law
Musashi University Tokyo Japan Arts & Education
Otemon Gakuin University Osaka Japan Arts & Education
Rikkyo University Tokyo Japan Business & Law
Ryukoku University Kyoto Japan Arts & Education
Seinan Gakuin University Fukuoka Japan Arts & Education
University of Tsukuba Tsukuba Japan Arts & Education, SEBE
Taylor's University Subang Jaya Malaysia Business & Law, SEBE
UCSI University Kuala Lumpur Malaysia Arts & Education
Universiti Malaysia Sarawak (UNIMAS) Sarawak Malaysia Arts & Education, Business & Law, SEBE
Lyceum of the Philippines University Manila Philippines Arts & Education, Business & Law
Ewha Womans University Seoul South Korea Arts & Education, Business & Law, Health, SEBE
Hallym University Chuncheon South Korea TBA
Hanyang University Seoul South Korea Arts & Education, SEBE
Korea University - Sejong Campus Sejong South Korea Arts & Education
Pusan National University Busan South Korea Arts & Education
Seoul National University Seoul South Korea Arts & Education, Business & Law, Health, SEBE
Sookmyung Women's University Seoul South Korea Arts & Education
Yonsei University Seoul South Korea Arts & Education, SEBE
National Taiwan University Taipei Taiwan Arts & Education, Business & Law, Health, SEBE
Assumption University Bangkok Thailand Business & Law
Chulalongkorn University Bangkok Thailand Business & Law
Mahidol University International College Nakhon Pathom Thailand Arts & Education, Business & Law
FPT University Hanoi Vietnam Business & Law, SEBE

[We are no longer scheduling information sessions as we are coming close to the deadline. If you would like to access our Echo recording of the session, please email us.]

Got questions? Email Nisa Samat at for general information, or for study options in New Colombo Plan destinations.

This program is currently not accepting applications.